BCCI announces Team India Squad for Australia Tour

BCCI Announces Team India Squad for Australia Tour

On Saturday by the Board of Control for Cricket in India(BCCI) Announced Indian Team for Tour of Australia. Here a good news is Yuvraj Singh makes a comeback to Team India, as BCCI announced squad for the Australia Tour. Yuvraj Singh has always been special(by Sandeep Patil). However, the big surprise is the dropping of Suresh Raina from the ODI Team and Stuart Binny also failed to make the cut. The selectors have also given opportunity to youngsters by naming Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Rishi Dhawan, Barinder Singh Sran, Manish Paney and Hardik Pandya for the Australia series.


The selectors surprised everyone by picking the old guards like Harbhajan Singh and Ashish Nehra, and also by giving chances to youngsters who have performed well in domestic circuit like Brainder Sran and Hardik Pandya.

Two separate teams were picked for the tour, with Mahendra Singh Dhoni retaining his position as the skipper for both the outfits.


1. MS Dhoni (Captain) MS Dhoni (Captain) (WK)
2. Virat Kohli (VC) Virat Kohli
3 Shikar Dhawan Rohit Sharma
4. Yuvraj Singh Shikhar Dhawan
5. Rohit Sharma Ajinka Rehane
6. Anjinka Rehane Manish Pandey
7. Ravindra Jadeja Ravindra Jadeja
8. Harbhajan Singh Ravichandran Ashwin
9. Suresh Raina Mohd. Shami
10. Ravichandran Ashwin Axar Patel
11. Ashish Nehra Ishant Sharma
12. Muhammad Shami Umesh Yadav
13. Bhuvneshwar Kumar Gurkeerat Singh
14. Umesh Yadav Rishi Dhawan
15. Hardik Pandya Brainder Sran

Here are the teams:

ODI Squad: Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Manish Pandey, Mahendra Singh Dhoni(C), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohd. Shami, Axar Patel, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Gurkeerat Maan, Rishi Dhawan, Brainder Sran

T20 Squad: Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Yuvraj Singh, Mahendra Singh Dhoni(C), Suresh Raina, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohd. Shami, Harbhajan Singh, Umesh Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra

BCCI thought Nehra will be useful in the team, we will need experienced players in the world T20, and the surprise is the return of Ashish Nehra in the T20 squad.

The selectors rewarded Jadeja for his good performance in the recently concluded Freedom Series against South Africa. He is been included in both the squads. His return to the national team all the more holds importance considering the upcoming Twenty20 World Cup in India.

“Yuvraj Singh will always remain special.” Sandeep Patil, the chairman of selectors, said. “The selectors are very happy, and the captain is also very happy to have him back. We cannot promise any player whether he will be part of the next tour or the World Cup. We want every player to perform and every player has a chance to come back in the team.”

He said the selection of senior players like Yuvraj and Nehra was to give the selection committee an opportunity to assess them ahead of the World T20. “We have introduced and given many youngsters [opportunities], which we are very happy about,” Patil said. “This game is not only of youngsters, this game also needs to have experience. And we are looking at the World Cup T20 championship in India where we will certainly need experienced players.”

Besides the usual suspects, the BCCI also provided opportunities to upcoming talents, with Brainder Sran, Rishi Dhawan and Manish Pandey getting their national call-ups.

Mohammed Shami, who underwent a knee surgery post World Cup , also made a return in both the squads.

The Sandeep Patil-led national selectors met in Delhi to decide the team. Limited overs skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni, BCCI secretary were also present in the meeting.

In the recently-concluded series against South Africa, India lost both the T20 matches and the ODI series 2-3 under the captaincy of Mahendra Singh Dhoni. India tried 14 players in the ODI series and 12 in the T20 games.

It’s believed that the team was selected keeping in view of the 2016 ICC World T20, which is being held in India.

Announcing the squads, Patil said that the tour will “give selectors a chance to take a look at other players”.

The tour comprises five ODIs and three T20 Internationals to be played between January 12 and 31 at Perth, Brisbane, Melbourne, Canberra, Sydney (ODIs), Adelaide, Melbourne and Sydney (T20Is).

The squad is expected to leave for Australia on January 6.