Carissa Moore Wins 2015 World Women’s Surfing Title, Target Maui Pro

Hawaii’s Carissa Moore is Back on Top with a Third World Title, Back-to-Back Maui Wins

Carissa Moore Clinches her third world title before beating Sally Fitzgibbons to win Maui Pro. Moor has capped a third world title with a near-perfect heat score to win the final event on the women’s world surfing circuit.

Carissa Moore(HAW) notched up a 9.50 and perfect 10 to beat Australia’s Sally Fitzgibbons(AUS) in the final of the event, held at Maui’s famed Honolua Bay.

Hawaiian wins second straight tournament in Maui Pro


Target Maui Pro 2015 ♥ Final

  1. Carissa Moore (HAW) 19.50
  2. Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS) 17.90

After something of a comeback year, Carissa Moore (HAW) Clinched her third World title early in the day, winning it when Coco Ho (HAW) defeated Courtney Conlogue (USA) in Round 4. And before the day was over, she won the Target Maui Pro for the second consecutive year.

Carissa Moore(HAW) Said After her Title Win

“I’ve enjoyed the whole ride and to see it pay off, it was just nice to finish off the season strong last year here. It’s a place I love to surf, and it just lit a fire underneath me and got me excited for this season. That was the biggest barrel I’ve ever gotten in competition, and I’m just so thankful for everything,” said carissa Moore.


“It’s been a crazy title race, “Moore said of the see-sawing battle she has had with Conologue throughout the year.

“There’s is so many ups and downs and trying to keep a level head the whole time just to keep that confidence up when you lose. I’ve enjoyed the whole ride.”

Carissa Moore vs. Sally Fitzgibbons was Mind Blowing in Maui Pro

The Target Maui Pro Final was one of the best heat of the year. Moore opened with a 9.50, while Sally Fitzgibbons kicked off her scores with an 8.33. They went blow for blow, each one upping the ante on every wave. But the final of the battle was Moore’s massive barrel that earned her a perfect 10. Fitzgibbons needed two new scores to catch up and Moore’s event win was all but imminent.

“The wave did all the work,” Carissa Moore said of the ride.

“All I had to do was stand there”

Top 10 ♦ Women’s Samsung Galaxy Championship Tour 2015

  1. Carissa Moore (HAW) – Tittle winner
  2. Courtney Conlogue (USA)
  3. Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS)
  4. Bianca Buitendag (ZAF)
  5. Tyler Wright (AUS)
  6.  Lakey Peterson (USA)
  7. Tatiana Weston-Webb (USA)
  8. Johanne Defay (FRA)
  9. Nikki Van Dijk (AUS)
  10. Malia Manuel (HAW)