India’s World T20 2016 squad announced

The Board of Cricket for Control in India (BCCI) selection committee, headed by Sandeep Patil, on Friday announced the 15-man Indian squad for ICC World Twenty20 as well as upcoming Asia Cup 2016. MS Dhoni was named the captain for both the teams. The Asia Cup will be played in Bangladesh followed by the World T20 in India. India will be hosting the mega tournament of the shortest format of cricket for the very first time, and all eyes will be pinned on MS Dhoni and his men to stamp their authority one more time.

15-man Indian squad for ICC World Twenty20

There weren’t many surprises as the Sandeep Patil-led committee, The only new face in the side was left-arm spinner Pawan Negi, who was recently included in the squad for Sri Lanka T20Is, has made it to both Asia Cup and World T20 squads. Paceman Mohammed Shami made a comeback. There is no place for Manish Pandey.

Also see: ICC T20 World Cup 2016 Schedule

Speaking to reporters after the selection committee’s meeting, Patil said, “Manish Pandey performed exceptionally well in Australia, his name was also discussed. When selectors pick a team, we always give importance to domestic performance. It is not that we are only looking at seniors, we have looked at the performance, fitness and record of the domestic players as well. We have taken into account all the performances of not just 15-16 guys but all the domestic players and then picked these 15.”

On veteran off-spinner Harbhajan Singh, Patil said, “Harbhajan has been a part of this team. The selectors, the team management and the captain have faith in Harbhajan, his record and the contribution he has made to the team.”

Here is the complete 15-man squad

Harbhajan Singh has been a part of the team. The selectors, the team management and the captain have faith in Harbhajan his record and the contribution he has made to the team,” Patil explained.

India, Pakistan, Australia, New Zealand and Winner Group A (Q1 A) are in Group 2 (Super 10 Stage). The hosts open campaign against arch rivals Pakistan in Dharamsala on March 19.

The tournament is divided into 3 stages. 16 teams are in the fray. The event will be hosted across 7 cities.
ICC T20 World Cup 2016 Indian Jersey

The Men in Blue as always will be seen in Nike jersey for the upcoming ICC T20 world cup 2016, which will have the  same colour with new texture and the name of the Country printed in Orange  along with the Title sponsor Star Sports In White.

Previous Champions of World T20

2007 – India 

2009 – Pakistan

2010 – England

2012 – West Indies

2014 – Sri Lanka