Smart Cities: Govt to announce list of first 20 cities Thursday

Smart Cities: Union Minister of Urban Development, Venkaiah Naidu on Thursday declared nomination of 98 cities in the Smart City Challenge. The first 20 cities to be developed as Smart Cities will be announced Thursday, Minister M Venkaiah Naidu said Wednesday. Two other cities will be announced later. Govt has earmarked Rs 48,000 crore for development of 100 smart cities. While Uttar Pradesh gets most of them, nine state capitals including poll-bound Bihar’s Patna, are missing from the list. Uttar Pradesh got 13, Tamil Nadu 12, Maharashtra 10, Madhya Pradesh 7, Gujarat and Karnataka 6 each, and Andhra Pradesh and Bihar get 3 each.  Each smart city would get a Central assistance of Rs 100 crore per year for five years.

Each smart city would get a Central assistance of Rs 100 crore per year for five years.

These cities were selected through intra-city competition evaluated on parameters such as service levels, financial and institution capacity, past track record and reforms.

“Smart Cities need smart people. We need people’s co-operation to move forward in our mission. Our prime motive is to enhance urban life. The mission is very practical and realistic,” Urban Development Minister Venkaiah Naidu said as he made the announcement.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi had launched the criteria and guidelines for 100 Smart Cities to be selected through city challenge competition in June 25. “Barring Jammu and Kashmir, all states have finalised the names of proposed Smart Cities through competition. So there are total 99 cities being selected across the country,” sources in  Ministry said.

Smart Cities Development(few):

  • Smart cities will be developed to have been basic infrastructure through assured water and power supply.
  • sanitation and solid waste management, efficient urban mobility and public transport, IT connectivity, e-governance and citizen participation.
  • 100 senior officers of Army, Navy, Air Force and civil service, including 25 foreign officials, participating in a course on ‘National Security and Strategic Studies’ at the National Defence College here(Naidu was addressed).

In the subsequent years, the government will announce 40 cities each to be developed as Smart Cities as per Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s plan to develop 100 Smart Cities in the country.

Funding Central 

The Centre will provide Rs 200 crore per city in the first year, followed by Rs 100 crore each year for the next three years to as many as 20 ‘top’ cities. The remaining cities will be asked to address deficiencies before participating in the second and third rounds of the challenge.

A special purpose vehicle (SPV) will be created for each smart city, wherein the State/UT and urban local body will have 50:50 equity.

The Cabinet had approved an outlay of Rs 48,000 crore for the Smart Cities Mission in April last year.

The project intends to promote adoption of smart solutions to enhance the quality of urban life and provide a clean and sustainable environment.

Govt unveils smart cities list; 13 cities from Uttar Pradesh, 3 from Bihar included

List of states and number of cities that have been nominated by the government

Andaman and Nicobar Islands 1 (Port Blair)

Andhra Pradesh 3 (Vishakhapatnam, Tirupati, Kakinada)

Arunachal Pradesh 1 (Pasighat)

Assam 1 (Guwahati)

Bihar 3 (Muzaffarpur, Bhagalpur, Biharsharif)

Chandigarh 1

Chhattisgarh 2 (Raipur, Bilaspur)

Dadra and Nagar Haveli 1 (Silvassa)

Daman and Diu 1 (Diu)

Delhi 1 (NDMC)

Goa 1 (Panaji)

Gujarat 6 (Gandhinagar, Ahmedabad, Surat, Vadodara, Rajkot, Dahod)

Haryana 2 (Karnal Faridabad)

Himachal Pradesh 1 (Dharamshala)

Jharkhand 1 (Ranchi)

Karnataka 6 (Mangaluru, Belagavi, Shivamogga, Hubballi-Dharwad, Tumakuru, Davanegere)

Kerala 1 (Kochi)

Lakshadweep 1 (Kavarrati)

Madhya Pradesh 7 (Bhopal, Indore, Jabalpur, Gwalior, Sagar, Satna, Ujjain)

Maharashtra 10 (Navi Mumbai, Nashik, Thane, Greater Mumbai, Amravati, Solapur, Nagpur, Kalyan-Dombivali, Aurangabad, Pune )

Manipur 1 (Imphal)

Meghalaya 1 (Shillong)

Mizoram 1 (Aizawl)

Nagaland 1 (Kohima)

Odisha 2 (Bhubaneshwar, Raurkela)

Puducherry 1 (Oulgaret)

Punjab 3 (Ludhiana, Jalandhar, Amritsar)

Rajasthan 4 (Jaipur, Udaipur, Kota, Ajmer)

Sikkim 1 (Namchi)

Tamil Nadu 12 (Tiruchirapalli, Chennai, Tiruppur, Coimbatore, Vellore, Salem, Erode,  Thanjavur, Tirunelveli, Dindigul, Madurai, Thoothukudi)

Telangana 2 (Greater Hyderabad, Greater Warangal)

Tripura 1 (Agartala)

Uttar Pradesh 13 (Moradabad, Aligarh, Saharanpur, Bareilly, Jhansi, Kanpur, Allahabad, Lucknow, Varanasi, Ghaziabad, Agra, Rampur)

Uttarakhand 1 (Dehradun)

West Bengal 4 (New Town Kolkata, Bidhannagar, Durgapur, Haldia)

* Jammu & Kashmir has asked for more time to decide on the potential cities)

* 12 cities have been shortlisted from Uttar Pradesh against 13 cities nominated for Smart City project